How to become a silversmith and design custom jewelry – Week 1

After selling my first couple of jewelry designs, I decided I might actually have a chance at turning my hobby into a small business. But to do that I need to step out of the playground and into the classroom.

I took the plunge and enrolled at a 10 week workshop at a local college (for locals, that’s Algonquin College in Ottawa, Canada). For 3 hours every Thursday evening myself, and 8 others, are learning the art of traditional jewelry design.

Tonight’s first class was nearly overwhelming. So many processes, tools, techniques, and possibilities. I have my first supplies – a clamp and a jeweler’s saw.

20130124-222424.jpg

There will be so much more to come and it’s quite the investment in time and tools, but it’ll be worth it. For anyone interested, I’ll update you on what I learn in the next 9 weeks. Sawing, texturizing, shaping, polishing, soldering, designing, gem setting and finishing, oh my!

Update: Okay, my bad. I totally didn’t keep up with this series. I spent a lot of time on just a few projects in that class and didn’t really learn as many techniques I had expected. But, the experience was worth it. I caught the bug and started equipping my own home workshop before the classes were even done. It’s a slow process of experimenting, finding affordable supplies and building up a small business. It’s sometimes frustrating but mostly incredibly fun.

Leave a Reply

