The Grog Pub and Oscar Wilde

It’s my last night here in Newburyport, MA and I wish I had another week to explore. From my brief visit I can tell it’s a lovely, eclectic, tasty little town that deserves a longer visit.

It was a long day at work. A productive, educational visit with some new and awesome colleagues left my brain exhausted but full. As someone who is an old hand at business travel, at the end of the day, I know what it’s like to be alone and in desperate need to get out of my hotel room to have a quiet dinner and a couple of glasses of wine to chill out and and unwind.

I walked down State St. scanning the restaurants to find something inviting, lively, with a secluded spot I could tuck myself into and people watch without interruption. I lucked out and found The Grog. A little booth by the window looking out onto the bar during an open mic night was the perfect combination. I could sit back and enjoy the sounds and catch up on my work diary to catalog my newly exploded list of “to do” items.

photo 3 photo 2 photo 1photo 4

I was surprised when an older gentleman stopped by my booth to chat me up using an Oscar Wilde quote. It was more like a friendly exchange than a pick up line and we ended up shaking hands before he wandered off to find the open mic area and I went back to my work diary…which lasted about 5 minutes before I started looking up more Oscar Wilde quotes! Man, that guy had a wicked sense of humour and brutally insightful way of looking at life and people. Here are just a handful of my favourite lines. Thanks random literary stranger!

“Life is much too important a thing ever to talk seriously about it.”

“Always forgive your enemies – nothing annoys them so much.”

“Education is an admirable thing, but it is well to remember from time to time that nothing that is worth knowing can be taught.” “

“I am not young enough to know everything.”

PS. If you do go to The Grog, I recommend the broiled scallops with a glass (or two) of Pinot Grigio. Delish!

3 thoughts on “The Grog Pub and Oscar Wilde

  1. Pingback: Oscar Wilde inspired copper cuff | Wavy Nettles

Leave a Reply

