My favourite soft and chunky cowl pattern

For the last week or so, I’ve been working on a new cowl pattern. I mentioned the source of my inspiration in a previous blog. What I’ve been trying to work out is the “right” size.

Chunky cowl pattern texture

Chunky cowl pattern texture

So far I’ve created one that was WAY too big and another that was okay but still too large . I’ve just finished a “medium-large” version, but having worn it a couple of times it seems to have stretched a bit, so I’m going to try yet another slightly smaller version until I find the magic number of stitches.

Cowl Pattern:

Needle size: Circular 10 mm / 15 American / 000 Canadian
Yarn: Bulky (Bernat Roving – 100 g / 3.5 oz / 109 m). 80% acrylic & 20% wool blend.

Cast On: Ideally, this would be a “one size fits all” pattern, but I haven’t found that perfect size yet, so here is what I’ve tried so far.

Ridiculously gigantic: Cast on too many (120 +) stitches. End up with something that looks more like a lap throw and then pull it all out and start over. Sigh…
Large: cast on 100 – which I think is still too big, but you can judge from the pictures below.
Medium-large: cast on 84
Just Right: cast on 68 or 76 (?) – I’ll let you know once I’ve found the perfect fit.

Continue in the round. Note that I use the tail of the first cast on stitch to signal where the next row begins. You may want to use a marker or something to make it more obvious.

Row 1: K2, P2
Row 2: K1 (P2, K2), repeat to last 3 stitches and P2, K1

Repeat rows 1-2 until you’re happy with the length. I’ve found 40 rows seems to work well. Bind off.

The reason I’ve been struggling with the overall length of the cowl is that the weight of the yarn, the large gauge of the stitches and the pattern seem to give it a lot of nice bulk, but also a lot of stretchiness to it which has been hard to account for the final size – especially once it’s been worn a couple of times.

Too large cowl

Extra large and bulky cowl / scarf

Here is a pic of the “Large” size I’ve created. I’ll edit this post with the “just right size” when I find it. Unless, this big n’ fluffy cowl works for you 🙂

The best thing about this pattern is that you end up with an incredibly versatile accessory. Part scarf, part cowl and sometimes shrug which is great for those cool days when you don’t exactly want to bring a coat.

Soft and chunky cowl

Soft and chunky cowl

Easily turned into a shurg

Regardless, of how many times I fiddle with this pattern, my new motto is “Keep Calm and Knit On” 🙂

2 thoughts on “My favourite soft and chunky cowl pattern

    • Thanks Raimi! Knitting isn’t something I had much patience for until I was in my mid-twenties. Honestly, it’s quite easy. I find the many video tutorials on YouTube incredibly helpful. Mind you, I usually have to “undo” more than I “do”, before I get it right 😉

Leave a Reply

